My next phone

 

I’m due a new phone in October. So as you’d expect, the new iPhone was of particular interest to me. We have a 3GS, but the wife uses it for the most part. I promised myself an iPhone 4 this time around, with a view to retiring my trusty BlackBerry/iTouch combo.

I’ve been a BlackBerry user for years. But with the phone now on Vodafone, a sharper camera and system spell checker, the iPhone 4.0 is just too tempting. And anyway, my wife is getting pissed off with me testing apps on her phone all the time…

But if I were buying a new phone today, I’m not sure I’d have the confidence to buy an iPhone 4.0. I’m not flush these days. Any new phone will be around for the length of the contract. So the concerns over the iPhone antenna, are making me wonder about plumping for the first iteration of a major redesign.

I’m no fanboy. I know Apple get it wrong sometimes. The Wi-Fi on my last 15” MacBook Pro (pre-Unibody, Intel model) was utter shit. It would regularly drop my connection and was incredibly frustrating to live with. If my new iPhone has similar problems, I wonder how long my BlackBerry will sit in its drawer?

Also, I’ve always been very positive about Android. The recent acceleration in iPhone hardware evolution is down to stellar competition from Google and its hardware partners – chiefly HTC, Motorola and now Samsung. I think the best is still to come from Android, so come October, who knows what handsets will be available — there seems to be a new “Best Android Phone” every month.

Can you see why I’m so uneasy about selecting the phone I’m going to have to live with, every day, for the next 2-years? I know this is very much a first-world personal drama… but still, indulge me. šŸ™‚

We’ll see how all this plays out. I would probably buy a rubber bumper/case anyway. And it’s possible that a firmware update could correct the problem (antennas can, I understand, be programmed to adjust frequency when the antenna length changes – i.e. someone bridges the two sections).

And it’s not for the hardware that I use Apple. I use the Mac because the independent development scene on OSX is light years ahead of Linux and Windows. My favourite Twitter client, word-processor, blog editor, project management software, video player, RSS reader and photography applications are all on the Mac. I use Windows and Linux every day, but it’s the Mac where I feel most at home.

It’s the same on the iPhone. I love Reeder, Tweetie (now Twitter for iPhone), TaskPaper, TuneIn Radio, Instapaper, and Night Stand on my iTouch (not to mention loads of cool photography apps on my wife’s 3GS — we share an iTunes account). I know Android versions of these apps – and potentially better ones – are coming thick and fast, but the talent and creativity that OSX-based platforms attract just blows me away. That’s why, regardless of a dodgy antenna, my next phone will still probably be an iPhone.

