The App Store and all those GTD apps

Earlier this month Apple launched the Mac App Store — a one-stop repository of Apple-approved Mac software. Like the iOS App Store, Apple vets all the apps and takes a 30% cut of any revenues from the paid ones.

It doesn’t need to be said that the iOS store (as used on the iPod Touch, iPhone and iPad), has been a stunning success, and with a million-plus downloads within the first 24-hours, it looks like the Mac store is set for glory too.

So what’s it like? Well if you have a Snow Leopard you’ve probably already had a look. Thankfully it’s not been tacked onto the already lumbering iTunes. It’s a very simple app, much like the standalone store on the iPhone.

If like me you’re a supporter of independent software, you’ll see a lot of familiar apps. Images editors Acorn and Pixelmator both appear, as does eBay client iSale, the excellent Alfred, and the simply peerless MarsEdit

There are games (not that many, yet), other image editing apps, utilities, and a few reference and educational apps. And there are loads of productivity/GTD apps.

Productivity apps on Apple’s App Store are like celebrity fitness videos; there are hundreds of them, they’re expensive, and they’re all pretty much variations on the same thing.

Although I’m a longtime Mac user, because my work uses Exchange, my whole workflow is in Outlook.

It’s not perfect (by a long stretch), but Exchange’s ubiquity means I can sync between my Android, my work cell (Nokia E72) and my work laptop (I use Citrix to create a VPN into work on my Macs).

I’d love to break free of the Exchange environment, but it’s not realistic. And I wonder how realistic it is for many Mac users who use Exchange in the enterprise?

I know Things and Omnifocus are both brilliant, but just how big is the Mac-centric GTD environment, and can it really sustain so many pricey apps?

